Community
Small Game, Predator and Trapping From shooting squirrels in your backyard to calling coyotes in Arizona. This forum now contains trapping information.

Shot fox with six shot

Old 06-24-2016, 07:14 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default Shot fox with six shot

I'm a small-time chicken farmer and occasionally I have to manage run-ins with the local predators i.e. fox, coons, hawks, etc.

A new fox showed up a few weeks ago and has taken two chickens since. I set up a foxpro caller I borrowed from a friend and got the fox to come in and missed with my .22. (about 50 yard shot with open sights).

I then set up in my ladder stand with the caller a couple nights later. I got him to come in again and as soon as he noticed the caller, he split.

He stopped at about 40 yards and looked back. I thought it was a game-time decision and risked him taking off again not giving me a closer shot so I stood up, aimed and shot at him with my 12 gauge using six shot. He flinched and then ran off.

It's hard to tell if I mortally wounded him or not. I would have liked to have dropped him, but that wasn't the case.

I know I need to get a scope for my .22 and get it sighted in. I prefer to use that since it is lower profile.
Old 06-24-2016, 07:34 AM
Boone & Crockett

What you need to do is not shoot at distances where you can't hit your target. I wouldn't be telling people if I hit an animal with fine shot and let it go off and die a slow death. What state are you from btw?
Old 06-24-2016, 08:02 AM
Nontypical Buck

Maybe you educated him or her not to come around your place anymore. Been my experience once they get a Chicken they will be back for more, they just get sneakier.

6 shot is unlikely to do much damage at 40 yards IMO, most of the pellets won't make it through the fur. And butt shots are the least likely to put one down anyway.