HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Small Game, Predator and Trapping (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/small-game-predator-trapping-12/)
-   -   Best bobcat bait!!! (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/small-game-predator-trapping/37668-best-bobcat-bait.html)

UCObaseball 09-17-2003 05:37 PM

Best bobcat bait!!!

A buddy and I had been trapping here in central part of Oklahoma for the last three years. Our main goal is to catch bobcats in our live traps. The first year was a rough one b/c we couldn' t find a bait to lure them in. We tried everything from live guinees to sardines to beaver meat and nothing just really worked well. After a day of duck hunting the 2nd year of trapping we thought we would use the breasted duck as bait. It turned out to be a great idea. We caught 8 cats off of a quarter section in a 3 week period. The following year we caught 11 off the same place and 4 others on some different land. It has by far been the best bait we have used yet. You will catch a lot of coons, opossums, and skunks in the process, but it is well worth it when you walk up to the trap and that big cat is raising hell. We found that trapping and calling predators provides great times and creates good memories after the deer seasons are all over.

Smitty_nc1 09-18-2003 07:06 PM

RE: Best bobcat bait!!!

Now just what the heck are you gonna do with a live Bobcat? I can see shooting one and having it stuffed, but I don' t think your gonna be able to carry one home in hopes of getting it litter trained. So what do you do with them?

UCObaseball 09-19-2003 07:48 PM