Community
Small Game, Predator and Trapping From shooting squirrels in your backyard to calling coyotes in Arizona. This forum now contains trapping information.

New to Small Game Hunting

Old 12-15-2010, 07:17 PM
Spike

Default New to Small Game Hunting

Hello all I'm just getting into small game hunting, been deer hunting the past few seasons. I'm getting a Remington 597 .22LR for Christmas just to see how interested in small game hunting I would get so i didn't want to start out with something high dollar & end up selling it off at a loss due to me loosing interest in hunting something other than deer. I've read a lot of negatives & positives about the 597 .22LR so I figured for the price it was worth a shot plus I didn't have any .22 rifles in my arsenal.

Looking into trying my hand at squirrels mainly since them seem to be plentiful at my hunt property. Racoons would be an option since they show up on my game cameras frequently but I don't know of anyone with racoon dogs so it would be hunting racoons without dogs for the time being, haven't really heard of anyone doing this but figured it was worth a shot. We have had coyotes & bobcats show up on cameras & even seen a bobcat during the day, not sure a .22LR would be the weapon of choice on these two animals though.

But anyway I'm looking forward to reading posts & maybe next year entering the squirrel hunting contest.

Last edited by NCGHunter; 12-19-2010 at 06:28 AM.
Old 12-15-2010, 08:25 PM
Spike

Some people don't think that a 597 is a good gun, but I think that they are great guns. You will have a lot of fun shooting at and hopefully killing squirrels.
Old 12-16-2010, 05:25 AM
Typical Buck