Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Small Game, Predator and Trapping
 Coyote / Fox Electronic Calling Techniques >

Coyote / Fox Electronic Calling Techniques

Community
Small Game, Predator and Trapping From shooting squirrels in your backyard to calling coyotes in Arizona. This forum now contains trapping information.

Coyote / Fox Electronic Calling Techniques

Old 01-29-2008, 08:45 PM

Default Coyote / Fox Electronic Calling Techniques

I live in the piedmont of NC. I'm new to predator hunting. I purchased the johnny stewart preymaster electronic call with the 60ft cord. So far i've seen a single coyote while using a rabbit in distress. I'm not sure how long i should play the calls, the patterns that are most effective. How much calling is too much? What is the best method to get them to come in. I have confidence in this caller and i'm a very experienced hunter, just not with predators. A couple locals have been losing cattle and pets around here and want me to get rid of the yotes!

Any suggestions would be great!

Thanks guys and i love this forum already!

Travis
Old 01-30-2008, 09:19 AM
Spike

Default RE: Coyote / Fox Electronic Calling Techniques

I have used that same call for about 3 yrs, in Indiana. I found that the rabbit distress and the flicker work best for me. I had the same problem when i first started with that call as well. After talking with others and watching videos, I learned that there are alot more factors than just what sound to use, such as; make sure you are down wind from where you think they will come from, don't walk out in the open to get set up, and don't hunt the same spot too many times. When I use a digital call i like to let it run the entire time I am at a spot, I stay at one spot for 20-30 min. The other thing I have found useful when hunting during the day, don't waist your time hunting on a day after a bright night, I haven't had much luck at those times.
Good Luck!

T.R.
Old 01-30-2008, 12:57 PM