Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Sporting Dogs
 new at training, needed advice about my britt. and getting him to hunt quail >

new at training, needed advice about my britt. and getting him to hunt quail

Sporting Dogs What's the best dog for what type of game? Find out what other hunters think.

new at training, needed advice about my britt. and getting him to hunt quail

Old 04-25-2009, 04:59 PM

Default new at training, needed advice about my britt. and getting him to hunt quail

im new to brid hunting i know a little but not enough. just got a britt he is about 6 months, what should i start doing now in order to get my dog ready to hunt?
Old 04-26-2009, 03:27 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: new at training, needed advice about my britt. and getting him to hunt quail

Get you a bird wing on a pole let him point in but not catch it (this builds his prey drive). I usually have my pointers on birds by 6 months, but if you are just starting with him now I'd start with a wing for acouple weeks. Get you a training book and follow it.
Old 04-26-2009, 08:24 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: new at training, needed advice about my britt. and getting him to hunt quail

Get him out in the field as much as possible, & make it fun! Save the "training" for the yard & make the field "the happiest place on earth"! In a couple of months, you are gonna want to start to introduce him to birds. If there is a NAVHDA club in your area, go to one of their training days & ask a ton of questions.
Old 05-01-2009, 09:39 PM
Nontypical Buck

Is he a house pet or is he penned in the yard?
Old 05-06-2009, 07:32 PM

in addition to the help stated above,
Condition him to loud sounds. this can be done by banging a large spoon on the bottom of a steel pot,