Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Best arrow for elk >

Best arrow for elk

Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Best arrow for elk

Old 01-06-2008, 08:56 PM
Spike

Default Best arrow for elk

I amplanning on an elk/archery hunt and need expert advice on what accessories to get.

It appears to me there are many great arrows out there that could do the job and everyone I speak with has a different opinion. I am not an arrow expert and have never hunted elk with a bow before and since I probably will only be able to do this once or twice I want to be sure Idon't cut corners on the arrows and broadheads. I am shooting a 70#, 28.5" Switchback XT.

The last person told me to go with the Beman MFX 340 and use a 100 gr. G5. The person before that mentioned the Easton ACC. Others swear by the carbon express. Is a narrower carbon better?

Maye I'm over analyzing this but I'm going to have a lot of money in this hunting trip and don't want skimp on the little things. Irregardless of the arrow I choose I plan on doing a lot of practice shooting.

Any other suggestions on equipment, prepardness, etc. is appreciated. If you respond Iwould also appreciate if you let me know if you ever went on an archery elk hunt, the equipment you used and how it performed.

I greatly appreciate your help!
Old 01-06-2008, 09:05 PM

Default RE: Best arrow for elk

Lots of arrows will work. But if I had pick one, it would be the Easton Axis FMJ.
Old 01-06-2008, 09:08 PM
Nontypical Buck

I would usewhatever you use on whitetails as far the arrow goes. The broadhead, I would go with a good fixed blade like Muzzy or Montecs. Just make sure you are confident you can put it where it needs to be.

I killed a bull in 2005 in Mew Mexico.
Mathews Switchback-70#
Easton axis arrows with Snyper Broadhead