Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Reloading
Accelerator Sabot help.... >

Accelerator Sabot help....

Community
Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

Accelerator Sabot help....

Old 03-01-2011, 11:26 AM
Banned

Default Accelerator Sabot help....

I'm wanting to load the "Accelerator Sabot" in .308Win.
Any help on a suggested load? I am new to reloading also.
I'd be shooting Prarie Dogs/yotes/etc out to 1000 yds (if all goes well)
Also, should I get a special die for these sabots? Or do I really need that.
Old 03-01-2011, 04:50 PM
Typical Buck

I know that Remington has an "accelerator" cartridge and that is as much as I know. I would love to know more myself. Do you know what sabot and bullet is used or is that what you are trying to figure out?
Old 03-01-2011, 06:08 PM
Banned

No, I'm looking for info on loading it myself. What type of powder, how much, which primer, do I need the special die? That kind of info.
Old 03-01-2011, 07:14 PM
Nontypical Buck

1000 yards? Really?

What you're talking about here (a .308 with a .224 bullet in a sabot) isn't much different than a .22-250, just a shade hotter.

Just a quick check in LoadBase tells me that a 50 gr (BC = .232) .224 V-max driven at 4000 fps (which is about what I expect to achieve in velocity) will go subsonic at 760 yards, and drops a mere 421.1 inches (35 feet) at 1000 yards. Maybe I need to get a tapered base to get that much elevation out of my optics?

I've used a .22-250 out to 600 yards on the KD, but what steam it had left was barely enough to take the paint of the 12x12" steel plate.

The "die" you're probably referring to is the one used to seat the .224 bullets into the sabot. I've not tried it yet, but it looks to be a much better alternative to stuffing bullets into plastic sabots by hand.