Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Reloading
 Barnes TSX Seating Depth >

Barnes TSX Seating Depth

Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

Barnes TSX Seating Depth

Old 11-01-2005, 10:48 AM
Fork Horn

Default Barnes TSX Seating Depth

I am a novice handloader and the free Barnes DVD suggests to seat the bullet deeper into the casing by (can't remember).. Anyhow the seating depth is significant compared to store bought ammo.

Can anybody explain why the seating depth should be deeper with Barnes TSX? Just curious because my buddy who's loaded a lot seats his bullet as far forward as possible and he claims this will improve accuracy.

Cheers.
Old 11-01-2005, 11:09 AM
bigcountry

Default RE: Barnes TSX Seating Depth

Barnes bullets generally don't give as much as say a nosler BT. They are guilding copper, and will build less peak pressure if loaded back some from the rifling. Think of something shooting youthru a door, would you rather have more momentum when hitting the door?

Barnes X bullets notoriously had tough times getting the velocity some of its competitors get without pressure signs.

What I have learned over the years, is its best first to find what COL it takes for your bullet to hit the rifling, and then find out what COL will fit reliably in your mag and chamber easy. Some short action calibers in long action guns, your limiting factor may be the chamber/throat distance, but most long action calibers, your mag is the limiting factor.

For Barnes and barrel burning guns, I like to be .1" or moreaway from the rifling. For say a 7mm-08 or 308, I would want to be .05" away or more.

Trying to always be against the rifling is tough. Its the biggest mistake I see new reloaders make. Changing seating depth is one tool you can use to drop pressure or increase accuracy. I have had some guns where it likes to be seated .25" away believe it or not.