Community
Official IBO.Net Forum - 3-D Shooting 3-D target shooting, tips, techniques and politics.

Money Money Money MONEY!

Old 04-19-2004, 12:10 AM

Default Money Money Money MONEY!

Is there any big money to be made in IBO competitions, or is it just for fun? I've never done this before, and I just don't know what to expect. I'd like to watch you guys shoot in a competition just to see what it's like. Do you shoot 3D targets, or other types of targets?
Old 04-19-2004, 09:49 AM

Default RE: Money Money Money MONEY!

Big money ? No way ! I'm sure even the top pros barely make a go of it when you figure all their expenses ? Most of their money comes in contingency money from their sponsors. You may have a great weekend and come close to breaking even for that shoot but over the long haul it is going to cost you money to play the game. How much depends on how far you have to travel, where you stay, how much you spend on food, etc. Some look at it as their yearly vacation and don't mind spending money while others will skimp on the extras and do it as cheaply as they can. It is an individual decision. Most shooters do this for the fun and don't go with the expectations of winning ANYTHING !
Old 04-19-2004, 11:51 AM

millions and millions to be won, if you shot for 2,348 years, and won every shoot all kidding aside, if you are wanting to participate in 3d archery and make money, take up golf or tennis. there is a little money to be won, and you better shoot very well to get it. the attitude that i take is simple, this is a hobby, just like any other, but the bonus is occasionally i will luck up and get a little bonus. i do not shoot for the money, i shoot because i love shooting my bow, and really enjoy the people that i have met over the years. i have yet to attend a shoot i didnt recognize a smiling face i have met in the past, and always meet new people at every shoot.