Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Regional Forums > Northeast
 Deer Numbers in MA >

Deer Numbers in MA

Northeast ME, NH, VT, NY, CT, RI, MA, PA, DE, WV, MD, NJ Remember, the Regional forums are for hunting topics only.

Deer Numbers in MA

Old 04-30-2006, 10:48 AM
Typical Buck

Default Deer Numbers in MA

I have been hunting MA for 3 years so I cam kind of a rookie. However I am just wondering how many deer you all see in MA on average from stand. I see maybe 5 a season up on the North Shore.

Thanks
Jim
Old 04-30-2006, 11:23 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Deer Numbers in MA

I live and hunt on the S. Shore. I see a good many during archery season I'd say 15-20 I'm not always able to get a shot at them but I do see them from stand. During shotgun season that goes down to between 3-5 agin not all shooters or with in range. During Black Powder for some reason it goes down even more 2 or 3 and again not all shooters or with- in range. I hunt mostly in small woodlots where noone else hunts. (I hatecrowds. Some of these wood lots are only 3-5 ackers there so small most people over look them but I did shoot 5 deer in Ma last year so my thery seems to work well for me. Good luck Mike
Old 04-30-2006, 01:19 PM

I wacth a herd from the 6 floor window in concord and saw one of the biggest deer Ive ever sein at about 400yards, The number of sightings always go down during the hunt but If your from the north shore area I would hunt around newbury, ipswichs. and rowley, theres a ton of deer there and youll always see them during any hunt. try right off 95.. near boxford........
Old 04-30-2006, 02:46 PM
Typical Buck

Thanks for the answers guys. I am graduating in May and I think I am going to work in Lexington. Do you know of anywhere in or around Lexington????????? I would love to find a little area with some deer and be able to hang a stand for days if I get out of work early.

Jim
Old 04-30-2006, 04:09 PM
Spike