Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Regional Forums > Northeast
 New to NY Hunting - looking for private land >

New to NY Hunting - looking for private land

Community
Northeast ME, NH, VT, NY, CT, RI, MA, PA, DE, WV, MD, NJ Remember, the Regional forums are for hunting topics only.

New to NY Hunting - looking for private land

Old 08-09-2005, 06:32 AM
Fork Horn

Default New to NY Hunting - looking for private land

I am new to the state (live in Saratoga County) and am looking for some private land to hunt in NY. I am from PA and had good luck knocking on doors of farmers who would grant access. Can I expect similar luck in NY.

My father still lives in PA so I would like to hunt somewhere a bit to the South, probably Schoharie County.

Any advice? Is public land less crowded in NY than in PA?
Old 08-09-2005, 08:32 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: New to NY Hunting - looking for private land

Where in Saratoga County? I live in Clifton Park. I just moved here as well after a short 6 month stint in New Hampshire, however before that I was in PA for 8 years. I still don't have any land to hunt in NY that is worth buying tags for. I will hunt Vermont and PA this year. I hear the Albany Pine Bush is an excellent place to hunt, public land that is bowhunting only. I may try to hunt it for the 2006 season but haven't had the time to put in scouting it for this upcoming season.
Old 08-09-2005, 01:01 PM

i think you have the anderondack mountains by you but i not sure
Old 08-10-2005, 06:10 AM
Fork Horn