Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Regional Forums > Midwest
Illinois deer lottery >

Illinois deer lottery

Midwest OH, IN, IL, WI, MI, MN, IA, MO, KS, ND, SD, NE Remember the Regional Forums are for Hunting Topics only.

Illinois deer lottery

Old 03-27-2017, 07:54 AM
Spike

Default Illinois deer lottery

Well, going to apply for my first deer tag in Illinois, I am a resident. I am trying to get a firearm permit I will take either first or second season, I am thinking about applying for starved rock and Lowden-miller. My question is, would I have more of a chance of obtaining a permit if I just applied for antlerless only either sex, or just either sex. I know some public site are antlerless only. In your experience what tag do most people apply for and get denied. Or does the site your applying for have the greater weight. Or have you ever been denied? Sorry, for the noob questions but thanks for the help.
Old 03-30-2017, 09:13 AM
Zim
Nontypical Buck

Conquistador, Not a bad question. I am a 25 year veteran and can advise that the Illinois resident firearm lottery stats are a complete mystery. They have never published anything. I can only tell you of my observations. I always apply for a high demand property buck tag and select 2nd season only as well. Then for my second choice a little known property I know well. I draw my first choice about 25% of the years. I draw the 2nd choice about 50% of the years. No tag 25% of the years. These same patterns apply for my friends. I don't know about any antlerless only sites, but if you applied for one I'm sure you would draw. I suggest only doing that for your 2nd choice. You have a good chance at getting a buck tag for your first choice. That is IF you pick a property at least 2 hour drive from Chicago and 1 hour from St. Louis. In those areas I have NEVER drawn a gun permit so I quit trying.