Community
Hunting Gear Discussion Clothing, stands, ATV's, optics, scents, calls, etc... read the latest reviews of hot new hunting gear items here.
View Poll Results: Would you like the option of having personalised, custom camouflage?
I don't need custom camouflage - happy with what is available
66.67%
I would like a pattern optimised to a large geographic area
22.22%
I would like a pattern optimised to my local hunting area
22.22%
I would like a pattern optimised to a specific location within a specific area
11.11%
I would like patterns optimised for different seasons
11.11%
I would like patterns optimised for different prey types
0%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 9. You may not vote on this poll

Custom camouflage?

Old 03-27-2015, 02:23 AM
Spike

Default Custom camouflage?

Good morning all. New visitor, first time poster to your forum.

I am a scientist from the UK and I was hoping that you might be able to help me answer a question. Please forgive me if this question is stupid but your help is greatly appreciated.

Imagine a situation where you could take photos of a particular hunting area and instantly design a perfect camouflage pattern match and have it applied to your favourite brand of clothing...

Is that something that appeals? Assuming that the camouflage was really good and cost was not a consideration...at what scale would you like to be able to personalise it? Large geographic area such as US Northeast, Local habitat such as a particular woodland or even a specific tree or bush? What about particular seasons?

Thanks
Old 03-28-2015, 07:23 AM
Nontypical Buck

Here's the problem with what you've proposed, and the difference in what REAL camo companies do, versus what you're trying to accomplish...

You take a picture, and it becomes a 2 dimensional composite of the 3 dimensional world in which we hunt. You now apply that wrapped around a 3 dimensional body, and you might as well have wrapped us in a cardboard box.