Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Hogs and Exotics
My first Hog experience.  Bummer. >

My first Hog experience. Bummer.

Hogs and Exotics Gun or bow, you can stretch your season and fill the freezer with wild hogs and an assortment of exotics.

My first Hog experience. Bummer.

Old 12-18-2012, 10:29 AM
Spike

Default My first Hog experience. Bummer.

First off I would like to say that this was my first experience with an outfitter and a preserve. I graduated college Saturday and I go active duty in the Navy at the start of the new year, and my father wanted to give me a good graduation/going away gift. I have wanted to take a hog or Russian Boar with my bow for several years and we thought this would be the perfect time. I thought I would let you all know of my experience at the ranch I went to in Ohio. I do not want to say the name but I am sure with some research you can find out which one it is from the internet and other reviews I have read. We were able to get a Christmas special for Russian Boar off of the current events page on the ranches website. The cost was 450 which I thought was very reasonable compared to other places. So the hunt was booked for Dec 17th.

The lodging at the ranch was nice and the owner was very friendly. We met our guides in the morning and were off for the hunt. Our guide was friendly enough. He set us in a spot over looking a wallow and we waited for the hogs to come. Since this was our first time on a preserve my father and I found all of the exotic deer walking by us to be very exciting and neat. Unfortunately we didn't see any hogs. When the guide came to get us after a couple of hours later, He spooked three little russians boars that were all between 60 and 125 pounds. He told me not to shoot them as they were too small.