Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Hogs and Exotics
 Eurasian or Russian? Maybe Feral? >

Eurasian or Russian? Maybe Feral?

Community
Hogs and Exotics Gun or bow, you can stretch your season and fill the freezer with wild hogs and an assortment of exotics.

Eurasian or Russian? Maybe Feral?

Old 10-05-2008, 03:19 PM
Fork Horn

Default Eurasian or Russian? Maybe Feral?

I really enjoy hunting wild hogs and I enjoy talking to others about it. But I run into a lot of misunderstanding about what a wild hog really is. Even guys that hunt them often times don't really know the difference between one or the other.

I'm no expert and there is a whole lot I don't know so don't be too harsh on me. But, I thought I'd throw what I know out and hopefully help inform.

There are a bunch of different breeds of hogs but ALL hogs (which does not include javalina because they are not true hogs) originated from Eurasian boars. Eurasian boars/hogs are the original 'wild hogs' and are native to the continents or Europe and Asia, which includes Russia and many other countries. Domestication and selective breeding of the Eurasian hogshas produced the many varieties and crosses we see today.