Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 Semi-Auto Doulble Feed Malfunction? >

Semi-Auto Doulble Feed Malfunction?

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Semi-Auto Doulble Feed Malfunction?

Old 02-08-2005, 09:43 PM

Default Semi-Auto Doulble Feed Malfunction?

I have a Sig P220 .45 ACP semi-automatic pistol. I am a reserve officer for the town that I live in and the other day I had to go out and qualify on my sidearm for the year.

It must have been sometime late summer since I last fired the gun. During my qualification courses I had a double feed malfunction several times.[:@] Mostly when I was in the prone position. [&:]

My question is what do you guys think is the problem? I have talked to several different people and have gotten the following possibilities:

Ammunition
Magazine problem
Weak or limp wristed shooter
Dirty firearm [](not cleaned recently but cleaned after last time I fired it)

The list does go on but the others don't merit posting.

Please keep in mind this is not a failure to extract like some people first thought when I told them it is a double feed of 2 live rounds of amunition from the magazine on the same cycle.

Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks guys!
Old 02-08-2005, 10:05 PM

Default RE: Semi-Auto Doulble Feed Malfunction?

I don't have a Sig but I have had a spent round jam up a live round feed before in a Glock 20

Going through the list of possibilities:

I assume you have shot similar ammo through this gun before? it would be an easy fix to try...unless new/ different rounds duplicate problem in prone.
my money would be on the magazine... no facts, just guessing.
limp wristed...not likely a problem unless you ONLY masterbate with one hand. HA!
you'd think dirty would cause a fail to feed WAY before it grabbed two.
Old 02-08-2005, 10:10 PM
Boone & Crockett

That sounds like there is a problem with your magazine.