Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 Howa/Weatherby Vanguard Stainless or Tikka T3 Lite Stainless? >

Howa/Weatherby Vanguard Stainless or Tikka T3 Lite Stainless?

Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Howa/Weatherby Vanguard Stainless or Tikka T3 Lite Stainless?

Old 11-29-2004, 12:14 PM

Default Howa/Weatherby Vanguard Stainless or Tikka T3 Lite Stainless?

Yes, I have researched and searched and read over 200 threads on here before posting. I know, I'm a newbie here, I expect hazing[8D]
Howa makes the rifles for Weatherby, I'm aware. My question is really, how would I go about getting support for it if something ever went wrong with the Howa? If I buy it under the Weatherby name they seem to have quite an established support structure in place. I see there's a $50-$100 premium for buying the Weatherby labeled one, but is it worth it in peace of mind? There were mentions in some of the threads I read of cosmetic differences between the two, can anyone elaborate on that?
I own a Glock Model 27 and have my concealed weapons permit, been shooting for years with that. I have been hunting quite a bit in the past, mostly with my bow and with assorted rifles and shotguns lent to me by family and friends. Also been playing paintball for years.
That being said this will be my first rifle so I'm looking at the Weatherby Vanguard Stainless in 7mm Rem. Mag. since it looks to be a well made rifle that will last me for years. For optics I'm looking at the Leupold Vari-X II 3-9x50mm in Matte with Leupold Dot. I appreciate any input.
Old 11-29-2004, 12:34 PM

Default RE: Howa or Weatherby Vanguard Stainless?

One more thing, since I'm looking at a common caliber, would I be able to use any ammo manufacturer? I have read that Weatherby mandates the use of proprietary ammo, or is that only in the Weatherby designations and that would not apply to the 7mm Rem. Mag.?
Old 11-29-2004, 12:56 PM
Giant Nontypical