Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

AR kits

Old 12-06-2008, 03:43 PM
Typical Buck

Default AR kits

For the last few months I have been pricing ARs of various calibers and brands and now I am thinking that it might be better to build one. The only problem with that is that I have never built a gun before, I have taken my rifle and shotgun apart to clean them, but other than that I have no experience with the assembly of firearms. Would it be possible for a beginner to assemble an AR and it be capable of shooting my target and not blowing up on me? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Tobe
Old 12-06-2008, 04:22 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: AR kits

Thanks, I knew that all I need was the lower, but I didn't know if I was going to have to put together the barrel and the stock and the stuff in between. As long its a pretty simple project I should be able to get it done right the first time. My main goal however is to get something functional that is reliable. Any clue on the durability of the kits, or is it just like buying a rifle from the store?
Old 12-06-2008, 05:15 PM
Nontypical Buck

Tobe,what I would reccomend is for you to get a complete lower reciever,then choose between an complete upper reciever or assembling the upper/barrel/etc. Complete lower recievers are still reasonable in price and when matching upper to lower,all you have is 2 crosspins. If you're determined to build 1,be SURE to get dvd or manual with LOTS of pics in order to guide you thru it .
Old 12-06-2008, 10:51 PM
Typical Buck