Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 Which semi-auto pistol? >

Which semi-auto pistol?

Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Which semi-auto pistol?

Old 11-21-2007, 08:35 PM

Default Which semi-auto pistol?

I plan on purchasing my first semi-auto pistol in the near future, but I have no experience with semi-autos so I thought I'd ask for your input. I'm not looking to spend any more than $600, although I'd prefer to spend less than $500. It will mainly be used for target shooting, home defense, and I may occasionally take it with me when I go hiking in mtn lion country. Of these three applications, target shooting will be the main purpose of this handgun. I don't plan on using it for concealed carry. If it helps at all, my hands aren't that big. I always purchase medium sized gloves.

Which makes/models should I be looking at, and in which caliber?

Any input is aprreciated.
Old 11-21-2007, 08:53 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Which semi-auto pistol?

How about the Glock 20 .10 mm.Semi not to big but a powerhouse round .Shoot really well.Less than $600.00
If you don't want a Glock don't shoot one.
Old 11-21-2007, 11:42 PM
Nontypical Buck

Take a look at the Springfield XD series. I have an XD 9mm, which took the place of my Glock 21. I liked the Glock, but I like the XD better. If you have smaller hands the XD will probably fit your hand better than most of the Glocks. I have big hands, and the Glock 21 and it's double stack .45ACP magazine made the grip very wide. You might look at the XD 40 in .40 S&W.

If you want a sidearm for defense against big predators, I'd actually recommend you look into a double action revolver. Something like the Ruger Redhawk .44 Mag or GP 100 .357 Mag.

Mike

Old 11-22-2007, 01:02 AM