Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 Federal Fusion vs. Core-Lokt's >

Federal Fusion vs. Core-Lokt's

Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Federal Fusion vs. Core-Lokt's

Old 08-14-2007, 09:02 PM

Default Federal Fusion vs. Core-Lokt's

Hello to everyone. I've finally joined on site after viewing for quite sometime.

With a new rifle I find myself tempted to try something new. I have been using Core-lokt's for the past 20 years with great success on Texas whitetails and hogs up to 300 lbs. On my lease shots can range from 50 to 300 yards as well.

I have read that the Fusion line from Federal has been very accurate, but I am wondering what its real world performance has been. I will be shooting my new .270 this year.

Thank you,

TX7Mag
Old 08-15-2007, 01:11 AM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Federal Fusion vs. Core-Lokt's

I used some last year, it worked good. A guy could probably never tell a difference between the too. I think the fusion is said to be a little more durable. The fusion is a boatail design, not sure if core lokt is .
Old 08-16-2007, 02:51 AM
Nontypical Buck

Federal's version of the Core-Lokt is actually called Power-Shok.

I use them in my .308, and it's the most freakin' accurate thing ever to exit my rifle. The velocity is stronger, as is the recoil, but it doesn't bother me, anyway, the Powershoks group one inch higher than Hornady SST ballistic tips.

Try the Powershoks and see if they work well in your rifle, they only cost $13.40 or something at your local Wal-Mart, and twice as much at your local gun store.

Josiah
Old 08-16-2007, 05:43 AM
Giant Nontypical

ORIGINAL: TX7Mag

Hello to everyone. I've finally joined on site after viewing for quite sometime.