Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Firearm Review Forum
to tikka or not to tikka??? >

to tikka or not to tikka???

Firearm Review Forum Rifles, shotguns, blackpowder, pistols, etc... read the latest reviews of hot new firearms here.

to tikka or not to tikka???

Old 08-11-2011, 10:13 AM
Fork Horn

Default to tikka or not to tikka???

Ive been shooting my Savage 270 for the last five yrs and im deffinately not happy with it! Bolt locks up and no matter how much i clean it the problems remains, im just waitin on the day when a good buck comes chasin a doe across one of our cutovers and if i happen to miss on the first shot i cant get a second shot off because of faulty equipment... Im very impressed with the look and feel of the Tikka brand, are they worth the money???
Old 08-11-2011, 10:51 AM
Giant Nontypical

Which model Savage is that ?

Why don't you send it back to Savage ?

Most people don't have a problem with Savage rifles............................??

BTW - I like Tikka; Proud owner of a Sako A7 Stainless (big brother of Tikka).

I also like Savage; Proud owner of Savage Weather Warrior 16FCSS in .204
Old 08-11-2011, 01:21 PM
Nontypical Buck

I'd take it to a gunsmith or send it to Savage. They have some pretty quality stuff. I have a couple Savage's and like them quite a bit.
Old 08-11-2011, 03:28 PM
Spike

my coyote hunting partner has a tikka. he LOVES it... just like i LOVE my winchester model 70.

i will say that his tikka holds the same if not better groups at 100 yards (given the performance of both rifles, it's hard to tell who's cloverleaf of stacked up shots is tighter)

both our rifles have wood stocks. but the tikka with a synthetic stock is quite a bit cheaper than a winchester model 70 featherweight.

it's not the rifle, it's they guy holdng it that puts stuff on the ground... but only when the rifle works properly.

i ended up with winchester because i too used to own bargain rifles. but never again!