Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Crossbows
question on arrows for crossbow >

question on arrows for crossbow

Crossbows This is the place to discuss hunting with crossbows and crossbow equipment. This is NOT a crossbow debate forum.

question on arrows for crossbow

Old 05-17-2015, 05:07 PM
Spike

Default question on arrows for crossbow

I just recently got a Barnett Brotherhood. I have been bowhunting for more than 20 years. Crossbow is new to me. I was wandering if it was possible to use some ICS Hunters and Goldtips I have that are to short for my Quest Rouge. I see they are thinner than the crossbow bolts I have but wandering if it's possible to convert them or not.
Old 05-18-2015, 05:02 AM
Fork Horn

You are better off staying with arrows specified by the maker, especially with Barnett Crossbows !

Last edited by OneBear; 05-30-2015 at 05:27 AM.
Old 05-20-2015, 06:45 PM
Spike

Crossbow arrows are larger diameter to allow the string to ride in the middle of the nock. I wouldn't recommend shooting a regular arrow shaft in your crossbow.

If you need some arrows, you might check out Deer Crossing arrows. Using code Joe53 at checkout will get a 10% discount.
Old 05-21-2015, 11:52 AM
Spike

Stick with the crossbow arrows.
Old 05-21-2015, 03:41 PM
Nontypical Buck

Crossbow "BOLTS have a much heavier spine than arrows. Your average crossbow is strung at 150 pounds. That is a LOT of weight to transfer into a bolt. Shooting too light of a projectile can and more than likely WILL result in one or 2 things. Projectile breaking, limbs cracking. And quite possibly head cracking from a limb failure. So the answer is, absolutely NOT. You can not use a regular arrow in a crossbow unless it is rated for 150 pound or above as well as hard cam if the crossbow you are using the M4. Those cams aren't particularly "radical" but they are considered "hard".
Old 05-23-2015, 04:01 AM
Typical Buck

Originally Posted by super_hunt54