Camp Cooking and Game Processing Trade recipes and other tricks of the trade for cooking wild game.

Meat Grinder

Old 08-23-2008, 12:28 PM

Default Meat Grinder

I recently inherited an electric meat grinder. It's a chefs mark? Never heard of it and can't find anything about it on the internet. I did find one that looks very close made by Villaware. Not an expensive one at any rate I know that. It will probably work fine for what I want though.

Anyway, I have no experience with meat grinding I have always let my processor do it for me. What do I need for ground deer meat? I know they mix it with something because they ask me if I want beef or pork, I am assuming it is some sort of fat or something. I forget what they call it.

My question is what is it, and how do I get it?

And how does this grinder work? Do I just cut the meat up in chunks and stick it in there, or is there more to than that?

Paul
Old 08-23-2008, 04:33 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Meat Grinder