Community
Camp Cooking and Game Processing Trade recipes and other tricks of the trade for cooking wild game.

Wild turkey?????

Old 04-17-2007, 01:10 AM
Fork Horn

Default Wild turkey?????

Ok guys this is really my 1st year turkey hunting and I have had pretty good luck, I have 3 turkey in the freezer now.. My question is whats the best way to cook it? I have heard to fry it.. But what do you bread it with? Sorry I am new to the whole cooking thing
Old 04-17-2007, 04:11 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Wild turkey?????

All the turkeys that I have had we cooked them just like we woulda store bought turkey and they have always been very good. We use the cooking bags and just follow the directions.
Old 04-17-2007, 04:41 PM
Nontypical Buck

How did you clean them?
If you plucked them you can do it just like a butterball in the oven, or you can buy a turkey fryerthat will come with recipes.
I usually skin them out, I use the dark meat for soups and such, but I fry the breast. I just cut the white meat into strips and drench in fish crisp, then pan fry, just like a shore lunch.
Old 04-17-2007, 09:29 PM
Fork Horn

I just breasted them out, because I didn't know if any of the other meat was good or not
Old 04-17-2007, 11:06 PM
Nontypical Buck

I'll usually skin out the whole bird, and I like to place mine in a Cajun Cooker they call it. Its really just a barbaque smoker. You use charcoal, a pan of water, and I throw smoking chips on the charcoal. Takes about 3-4hrs to cook a bird. But I tell you what its by far the best way I've ever eatten a wild turkey. It comes out so moist & tasty I can't stop eatting it once I start.
I've had the turkey fryer method, didn't really do much for me. It was good, but just didn't see where deep frying turkey meat was so awesome. I've had it injected w/ different marinades as well. Pan fried, baked, breaded. You name it I've tried it. Cajun Smoke one its the only way to go!!!
Old 04-18-2007, 09:54 PM
Giant Nontypical