Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Fred Bear Whitetail II >

Fred Bear Whitetail II

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Fred Bear Whitetail II

Old 12-13-2008, 07:33 PM
Typical Buck

Default Fred Bear Whitetail II

I am just getting into archery and I am looking for a nice starter bow that I can learn from. I dont want to spend too much money and I found this one on craigslist. It looks like its in great shape and I emailed the guy to go and see it tomorrow.

Has anyone ever owned this bow and what did you guys think of it. Will it be a good bow to learn from and will it be forgiving.

http://rochester.craigslist.org/spo/956284343.html
Old 12-13-2008, 07:40 PM
Banned

Default RE: Fred Bear Whitetail II

I had one of those 20 some years ago..gr8 bow but way 2 old IMO and outdated..and could be worn and dangerous to shoot...get something 5 years old or so and you will have modern technology and 5 year old bows are super cheap to buy
Old 12-13-2008, 07:42 PM
Dominant Buck

Let me give you a little analogy......

If you had to learn how to play golf with 20 yr old clubs....my guess is you'd not have AS enjoyable an experience as you would if you used modern equip.

I don't see archery as any different....as long as we're not talking traditional tackle.
Old 12-13-2008, 07:46 PM
bigcountry

I had one too. Along with the bear whitetail with cables and pulleys. I thought I was hot crap with it. But honestly, its about the same performance as a longbow or recurve believe it or not but much louder.

I have one right now, I am helping out a guy at church to setup.

Lots of good deals out there. Not sure this is one of them. Definately not worth 100 dollars. I just sold a 2000 model PSE for 190 with case. And it shot 280fps with a 370gr arrow.

Old 12-13-2008, 07:50 PM
Typical Buck