Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 DIY elk hunting tips >

DIY elk hunting tips

Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

DIY elk hunting tips

Old 12-11-2008, 09:35 AM
Banned

Default DIY elk hunting tips

I know lots of guys want to go elk hunting and I though I would share with you some tips I learned from my last two DIY elk hunt hunts. This last hunt I learned a lot on. I am still a novice by many standards of the many veterans out there and please add some tips for me and the others here.

1. Hunt high if it is warm. EDIT: Hunt where it is cool when it is hot..not always cool where it is high

2.Get yourself acclimated to the elevation if you are a flat lander as the high altitude sickness sucks. Hang around camp a couple of days before you try to exert yourself. Bring some Aleve as they reduce inflamation and your brain is swelling in your head and this is why you feel like hell. Drink lots of water too.

3.Biggest mistake I made on my 1st hunt was to try to pack all of my gear(70#'s) on my back way back in. HUGE mistake. Bring a wall tent and make a comfortable spike camp where you park your truck and then do your hunts out of that with a lightweight backpack.

4.Call in advance and see if fires are allowed with the current status of the woods' dryness and bring a chainsaw if it is allowed and get your wood and camp all comfortable the 1st day so you can enjoy the hunt. Most states don't allow you to bring your own wood into their state; has to be cut there.The pic below was my last DIY elk hunt camp in Sept and what a nice place to stay. I was there 14 days and could have made it another month.