Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Climbing treestands? >

Climbing treestands?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Climbing treestands?

Old 10-26-2008, 09:23 AM
Typical Buck

Default Climbing treestands?

Im thinking about getting one. I have a few question that I thought you guys could answer. How safe are these treestands. Are they easy to use im thinking about getting the primetime? Can u stand up in them and not have the base turn and slip.
Old 10-26-2008, 09:47 AM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: Climbing treestands?

I've been climbing trees for nearly 25 years with a variety of treestands from homemade and bare hugging trees to the one of the finest I feel is on the market.

When I first bought my first Ol'man I owned a Loggy Bayou. Although effective, it scared the bejezzus out of me on more than one occasion. When my ex wife wanted to get into hunting I used to hang a stand with screw ins for her and then go climb a tree with my Loggy. It was a pain in the ass so I searched for a suitable tree stand that she (4'11, 110lbs) could carry and use on her own. I first bought a Summit. Not only did it pack bad IMO, she couldn't use it in a tree. It was too cumbersome and when I tried it, I like it less than my Loggy. It was comfortable I'll give ya that but with the hanging seat, it put the bar too high and often inhibited shooting on close shots.

I then sold the Summit and bought an Ol'man for her. Not only did she use it with ease, I found it to be one of the easier most packable quiet tree stands I've ever used. When she didn't hunt, I left my Loggy at home and took her Ol'man. Soon, I bought a second Ol'man and put my Loggy away for use as a loc on only.