Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Corn for deer?

Old 08-18-2005, 04:08 PM
Fork Horn

Default Corn for deer?

Whats up guys?

For those who dump corn on the ground, do you just put the corn in a pile an leave it or do you add things like honey or some type of minerals. Since I'm hunting a place this year where only I am allowed to hunt I though I might try a pile of corn and see what it brings in. I would also like to have it out well before Oct. 1st. when bow season starts here.

Or maybe some apple isntead? I'm new at putting out food for the deer.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Old 08-18-2005, 04:20 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Corn for deer?

I like to put out cans of corn at 20, 30, and 40 yds. then I tie the can opener to a licking branch over a mock scrape. boy o boy, I can't wait.
Old 08-18-2005, 04:28 PM

im hoping its legal where you hunt. In ky its legal, we broadcast it in a big circle . dont make it thick or it will mold when wet then they wont touch it. also deer dont particularly like to eat right next to one another so by spreading it out. more deer can eat at once. no need to add anything. if they find it they will eat it.
Old 08-18-2005, 04:29 PM

I never pile up corn. When I do put out corn or pellets, I just scatter it all over the place in my effective shooting range. IMO, it's not good to have one big pile, if it's scattered, the deer will have to move around more and it allows more deer to nibble.
No, I don't add anything to my corn, but that's just me.
Old 08-19-2005, 10:07 AM
Fork Horn

I take corn that has been dipped in molasses and spread it out in a nice little area that is about 20 to 25 yards from my stand. In Maryland it's legal to bait so I go to Southern States and have a palate of corn delivered to the house and one a week or so I run a 50lb bag out to all the different stands that I hunt.
Old 08-19-2005, 11:05 AM