Community
Bowhunting Gear Review Broadheads, arrows, rests, bows, and more... read the latest reviews of hot new gear items related to archery and bowhunting.

Cheap Homemade Target

Old 01-05-2004, 01:22 PM

Default Cheap Homemade Target

Does anyone use a homemade target and if you do what do you use. right now i am using hay bales with plywood behind and it seem to work pretty well. i am just getting into bowhunting and am using a bow with a light draw weight. so i dont worry much about pass through
Old 01-05-2004, 02:08 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Cheap Homemade Target

http://forum.hunting.net/asppg/tm.asp?m=476962

Lots of ideas in this thread...
Old 01-05-2004, 03:33 PM

Since I started that thread that Rangeball linked too, I've actually made a target and started using it, with good results.

I got a burlap bag (not always easy to come by) and put some old sofa cushions that had cotton inside of them. I was able to fit 2 in the burlap bag, 1 on top of the other. Just this was able to stop my arrows without pass-though, but then I slip a piece of carpet down the front and back to make it stop my arrows even better. I then painted circles to shoot at.
Old 01-05-2004, 04:43 PM

Thnx guys I'll try it out and get back to you on it. by the way finally got my bow sighted in today and it is shooting great and straight.
Old 01-05-2004, 05:08 PM
Typical Buck

I like to get a nylon feed sack (about a buck) from the local farm supply & stuff it really full of those bags that you get groceries (& about everything else) in these days. Zip up the top w/a pc of wire & spray a couple/three 2" dots on it. Holds up great, will easily stop an arrow from any bow, & allows 2 finger arrow removal. Works great for field points, not good for broadhead practice tho. All for about $1.00.
Old 01-05-2004, 05:29 PM

I'm leery about firing arrows into a bag with only plastic bags as stuffing...what poundage are you shooting at?
Old 01-05-2004, 08:02 PM