Community
Bowhunting Gear Review Broadheads, arrows, rests, bows, and more... read the latest reviews of hot new gear items related to archery and bowhunting.

Fletching jig

Old 09-24-2002, 07:05 AM
Fork Horn

Default Fletching jig

For the guy at home whats the best fletching jig to buy for repairing and making arrows. I want something thats not too difficult to use, as I've never done it before. Any help would be appreciated.

Old 09-24-2002, 01:38 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Fletching jig

Most people I know use the Bitzenberger jig. Either straight or helical clamps can be used, depending upon your preference. It's easy to use, and does a great job. It only applies one fletch at a time, but can be used for either feathers or vanes. It is a little pricey for some folks. For something a little cheaper, try the Arizona E-Z Fletch. It does all three vanes / feathers at the same time.
Old 09-24-2002, 02:01 PM
Fork Horn

Thanks bugs, but now a worms popped up, whats the difference between straight or helical clamps. I can grasp the straight, but what about the helical and which one makes the arrow fly straighter. How can I tell which I've been shooting the past few years.
Old 09-24-2002, 03:14 PM

for the money the grayling does a great job. I use one & really like it. it is very adjustable & works as well as the bitz but costs half the money.

Old 09-24-2002, 07:43 PM

all i know bout helical and straight is that ive heard helical is noisier.
Old 09-24-2002, 09:19 PM
Boone & Crockett

Buckmister, I also recommend the Bitzenberger.

If you purchase the straight clamped Bitz, you can still offset the fletch which will work similiarly to a helical....

Now a helical is when the fletch wraps around the shaft of the arrow at an angle to the arrow, to what degree is determined by the fletch jig....

A offset fletch is a straight fletch slightly turn off center to the shaft.