Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 what powder is best? also loose or pellets >

what powder is best? also loose or pellets

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

what powder is best? also loose or pellets

Old 01-15-2005, 10:28 AM
Spike

Default what powder is best? also loose or pellets

I am currently using 2 50g. 777 pellets. I only have shot my gun 10-15 times and did notice a crud ring down towards the breech plug in my barrel. I was thinking of trying something different but didn't know what to get. I wanted to know if powder or pellets are better and which kind. I want something that will have some power in it with less cleaning. I also don't care about prices.
Old 01-15-2005, 11:52 AM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: what powder is best? also loose or pellets

HI, I am new to this sport too, matter of fact, I have to go to Cabelas today and pick up my new TC Omega. Anyways, I have been told by many, that loose powder is better, becouse you can tweek your load better than with the pellets. I like the idea of the pellets myself, they just look easier to use, but I plan on shooting many different combinations out of my gun at first, so I can find out what my gun likes better. Good luck.
Old 01-15-2005, 12:41 PM
Dominant Buck

I wanted to know if powder or pellets are better and which kind. I want something that will have some power in it with less cleaning. I also don't care about prices.
You can get the same effect using powder loose or pellets. I personally think you can tune a rifle better with loose powder then pellets but a lot of it would depend on how well the rifle is shooting with the pellets. If it is shooting good, why change?

You state you only have shot the rifle 10-15 times so you are not an avid shooter. Also money is not a factor to you. For that reason I would suggest you stick with what works for you, pellets.