Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

bullet Question

Old 11-19-2004, 12:37 PM

Default bullet Question

Can you practice with t/c mag sabots for practice then use powerbelt bullets if they have 5gr wight difference. I want to do this so i can save some money.
Old 11-19-2004, 12:56 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: bullet Question

Hi PTA.
though I am new to ML I have done extensive reloading. The problem is everytime you change the weight of the bullet or stay the same weight but go to a different brand how the bullet reacts to the rifle, the air, the load etc. will change point of impact.
In my experiance you may find they shoot the same but that is something you will have to experiment with and see how you rifle likes each load.

I am finding out also that what works good in one ML doesn't not always work in another. This is where the fun and the trial and error comes in.

Good luck
Eric
Old 11-19-2004, 01:01 PM
bigcountry

No, you can't or shouldn't unless you know for a fact that POI is the same for both which is rarely the case. I suggest using the T/c's for both. And forget about powerbelts. Too expensive, and you have to shoot low power loads usually to keep the blowby down and get accurate results. Not a very dynamic load/bullet.

Old 11-19-2004, 02:09 PM

I don't want to give a bad review of the Powerbelts because conceptually, I think they're a novel idea. Also, I know plenty of people who have had luck with them.

However, having just gotten into MLing this summer, I spent quite a bit of time at the range with several load combinations. The first of which included Powerbelts. I'm shooting a T/C Black Diamond XR, which is pretty reliable with a wide range of loads. However, I think I could really tie my initial consistency problems to the Powerbelts, especially at 100 yds.