Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 CVA Hunterbolt 209 vs. New Buckhorn 209 ?'s >

CVA Hunterbolt 209 vs. New Buckhorn 209 ?'s

Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

CVA Hunterbolt 209 vs. New Buckhorn 209 ?'s

Old 08-18-2004, 10:16 AM

Default CVA Hunterbolt 209 vs. New Buckhorn 209 ?'s

Hello,

I was wondering if anyone had experience with these models and could tell me some differences? I am brand new to ML and am going to pick up one of these two products, just trying to decide which one.

I know so far that the new Buckhorn is 2" smaller, both barrel and overall size. I also read that it comes apart differently than the Hunterbolt, making the Buckhorn easier to clean. Besides these things, is there any other differences? I am going to be only hunting deer, would one make a better choice over the other?

Any info is appreciated!

Thanks!
Old 08-18-2004, 11:44 AM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: CVA Hunterbolt 209 vs. New Buckhorn 209 ?'s

The missing two inches in barrel length will probably never be noticed if shooting 100 yards and under. The Buckhorn acts on a slide striker action. As you said, it is easier to clean, and it comes apart much like my CVA Staghorn which it replaced.

I would personally choose the Buckhorn over the Hunterbolt. The Buckborn generally costs less although there are some great deals out there right now on rifles. I would choose a .50 caliber and load powerbelts for now. Start them at 80 grains and work up in 5 grain amounts of Pyrodex RS or Goex FFg. If shooting Triple Se7en powder remember, it is 15% stronger then Pyrodex in loose form. There pellets are equal in strength. Although after checking the prices of pellets and loose powders at Wal Mart today, I will stick with my Goex....