Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Muzzleloader Info

Old 08-06-2004, 06:41 AM
Fork Horn

Default Muzzleloader Info

I'm new to this muzzleloader thing (like many), and have been doing my research on which gun to buy. I've been jumping from a T/C Omega, Knight Wolverine or Revolution, CVA Optima Pro, etc., etc. In a normal year in Illinois, at most there are only seven days you have to use a muzzleloader (four days for 2nd shotgun season and a three day muzzleloader season). I don't mind spending the extra money on a T/C or Knight, but is it really going to make a difference if I buy a CVA or another less expensive brand? Many of you are experts in the field and if there is a significant difference in manufacturers, I would appreciate the feedback. The guy that runs the local proshop all but tried talking me out of spending the extra money on an Omega. Claimed the CVA Optima Pro was easier to clean and provided the same accuracy as a Knight or T/C. I've known him for years and I know he's looking after my best interest (and wallet), but wanted to get your opinion.

Thanks!
Old 08-06-2004, 07:00 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Muzzleloader Info

I've only owned T/C. Haven't regretted it yet.

I have Ruger rifles, and I also have a Savage. The Savage cost about 175-200 less, yet shoots just as well as any rifle I have shot. It is not as pretty, and the action is not as nice. I do like that Savage though. Guess you need to make that choice for yourself.
Old 08-06-2004, 09:51 AM
Dominant Buck