Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

am i messing up?

Old 12-30-2003, 10:31 AM
Giant Nontypical

Default am i messing up?

i read an article that was posted in a post here i believe its this article http://www.muzzleblasts.com/vol4no4/...es/mbo44-3.htm ...very good article but it says he gets alot more shots out of a flint then i can dream of....like 50-100 easy....now i am new to flinting so maybe im doing something wrong.....the only thing that sparks in my rifle so far is black english flints....i tried agates and german agates.....not alot of sparks at all....the black english spark well but dont last long at all in m lock....i use leather and tighten it down really good...but my flints are chipping and breaking badly....after 5 shots at the range last week my flint was crap and wouldnt spark...i had a misfire because of it...so i knapped it to sharpen it somewhat and it fired...but then it was done...luckily i was also.....i think my frizzen needs replaced...its got goueges in it and is pretty worn....so ill have that done after the season.....but why are my flints breaking so badly?? i put them in there even with the frizzen and have them so they are just long enough for the frizzen to close(another problem...i cant get flints to fit in there...i look for short ones and even still some of those wont fit....so im using the ones that do fit) the lady that owns the shop i got my last flints at went through a giant pile found short ones and then looked them over and made sure they had good flats and everything....so my flints are good....i think the lock is the problem.....any advice?? next time i go im taking her the lock....but anything you guys might know to do?? thanx......just wondering.....i dont think they should break so bad after 1 shot....
Old 12-30-2003, 05:12 PM

Default RE: am i messing up?