Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
Sighting-in question >

Sighting-in question

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Sighting-in question

Old 02-22-2017, 02:33 PM
Spike

Default Sighting-in question

Hey, I'm fairly new to this and last year when I sighted in my Muzzleloader I sighted it in for a dirty barrel. Clean barrel was high and to the left, don't remember exactly how far off it was. When I went hunting I didn't have the guts to leave a dirty barrel even though I was shooting BH.

How do you guys sight your guns in??

do you split the difference in spread or

do you sight in for a clean barrel and hold for a 2nd shot on a dirty barrel or

do you sight in for a dirty barrel and adjust for the first shot.

The scope I'm using has adjustable turrets so I've thought about sighting in for a clean barrel and adjusting for a dirty barrel.

Is there a bullet/powder combo that will shoot the same from a clean barrel as a dirty barrel?? I'm planning on getting started early this year with my muzzleloader shooting to get more range time in. Thanks
Old 02-22-2017, 02:42 PM
Boone & Crockett

All my muzzys are sighted in on a clean, cool barrel. When I'm sighting in a rifle I usually have a couple guns with me. (usually do anyway as long as I'm going to be cleaning one I may as well get a couple dirty). This way I can load my rifle and keep it loaded for a week or two and not worry about corrosion setting in.