HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Black Powder (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/black-powder-23/)
-   -   Are CVA's safe? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/black-powder/323763-cvas-safe.html)

Corpsman45 05-25-2010 01:05 PM

Are CVA's safe?

I'm new to black powder, know practically nothing about bp rifles, and just picked up my first gun, a CVA Plainsman .50cal percussion cap. Mainly I snagged it because the gun show vendor was willing to let it go for $40, on account of a blocked barrel, some surface rust, a missing wedge, and it having had paint splattered on it at some point. After some work I got the obstruction out (a bore brush, and boy was it ever stuck!) and cleaned it up pretty good.
It looks okay, and I'll have a smith look it over, but I have some reservations about it. I've heard two different stories about this company. Mainly that they're really good, and that they use inferior, soft steel and their rifles have a really nasty habit of exploding at pressures well below those produced by a standard load.
I'm really nervous about using it. Can anyone settle this for me?

lemoyne 05-25-2010 01:29 PM

That's hard to do. I have bits of metal in my right shoulder from one that an other fellow had blow a barrel while I was on the line shooting. They were banned at our club for several years. They have made great improvements in quality the last 4 years but I would be inclined to be very careful of an older gun. Lee

WOODTICK49 05-25-2010 01:32 PM

Corpsman
I don't know that I can settle anything for you,but, CVA has been around a long time,both as the Company who had some legal problems and as the present day Company.