Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
Lets settle it once and for all... >

Lets settle it once and for all...

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Lets settle it once and for all...

Old 03-29-2010, 01:05 PM
Spike

Default Lets settle it once and for all...

...whats the verdict on using PRB's with a 1/48 twist? Some say you'll never get a decent grouping, others say that statement is a myth... shoot the round balls! I'm new to the blackpowder game and recently bought a TC Firestorm. Just hopin' for some direction from some experienced fellas. Thanks!

Last edited by gobblegrunter; 03-29-2010 at 01:07 PM.
Old 03-29-2010, 01:15 PM
Giant Nontypical

Depends on the rifle, caliber and what you consider decent groups...

Both of my flintlocks are deep cut rifling, not the shallow button rifling found on factory rifles...The .40 is a 1-48 twist and the .54 is a 1-72 twist...Both will keep all shots inside an inch at 50 yards...Both are very tolerant of changes in powder charges, elevation may vary a bit but not windage...That's where the deep rifling helps...

The Hawken Brothers used a 1-48 twist, but their's was cut as well...

I have worked up loads for some of my buddies in the past with factory rifles and the 1-48 twist...I was able to attain hunting accuracy but I wouldn't classify them as having great target or competition accuracy...
Old 03-29-2010, 02:02 PM
Spike

Ok, thanks for the input. How would I know how deep the rifling is cut? So far: 1pt for PRB's...anyone else got any input? I realize that it's gonna take some trial and error on my part to find the best load, and I plan to go through that process, but I also don't think it hurts to gather opinions from other more experienced guys...
Old 03-29-2010, 02:35 PM
Giant Nontypical

The twist will vary with the caliber:
Twist = 150 X D2/L
Where:
D = bullet diameter in inches
L= bullet length in inches