Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Bullet seating

Old 12-15-2007, 01:55 PM
Typical Buck

Default Bullet seating

Ok, this may sound dumb, but I'm an amateur at this black powder stuff, and I have to ask. I have a Thompson firestorm, flintlock version. I've been using black powder in it for the past couple hunting seasons, and this year I may try Pyrodex pellets. I havea friend that is having very good results with these in his Firestorm, so I thought I'd try it. My question deals with the seating of a projectile on top of the pellets. He told me he smashes the rod down on top of bullet till the rod bounces up out of the barrel. Is it me, or does this do 2 bad things: 1. deform the bullet tip; and 2. break up the pellets, basically defeating the purpose of the way this gun is built to use pellets. I don't know, so I thought I'd ask some of you fellas on here. How do you seat a bullet on top of pellets? I've never used them in anything, so any thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks
Mike
Old 12-15-2007, 02:21 PM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: Bullet seating

The only premeasured powder pellet/sticks that you smash are the American Pioneer or the Shockey Gold. If you look, the pyrodex and Triple Se7en have a hole through the center of them. That hole allows the initial ignition flame to explode up through the pellet which causes a more constant burn. The other two mentioned come in stick form. There is no hole through them. And they do not conform to the shape of the breech. Hence, they have to be smashed.