Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 Which is better loose powder or pellets? >

Which is better loose powder or pellets?

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Which is better loose powder or pellets?

Old 12-05-2007, 07:16 PM
Fork Horn

Default Which is better loose powder or pellets?

I have a couple of questions and I am fairly new to muzzleloading. Which is best to use loose powder or the pellets also which burns cleaner triple 7 or pyrodex? I am shooting an inline winchester Apex. Another thing what do you think of the powerbelt bullets?
Old 12-05-2007, 07:23 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Which is better loss powder or pellets?

ORIGINAL: bigcountry25

Another thing what do you think of the powerbelt bullets?
Since you asked:

http://www.the-gleasons.com/powerbelt_page.htm

I am in the hater's camp, others are in the lovers camp. You will hear from both. They work at low charges (i.e <= 1400 fps). I like Noslers, Barnes and Gold Dots, Hornady XTP for plinking.

As for loose powder or pellets, the loose is better since you can get an accurate load. Also the pellets cost a lot more, but they are easier for new ML hunters.

Chap Gleason
Old 12-05-2007, 07:28 PM
Nontypical Buck

I have always had my most accurate loads with loose powder. IMO you can regulate your pressure better with loose powder. More consistent pressure yields a more accurate load, again IMO. I do not have any experience with the power belts. I cast my full bore bullet's. Tom.
Old 12-05-2007, 08:19 PM
Boone & Crockett

"More consistent pressure yields a more accurate load, again IMO."

Indeed it does. i like to really lean on that ramrod hard. Have a 2" furniture knobthat goes on the end of the ramrod when i'm loading.
Old 12-05-2007, 08:24 PM
Fork Horn

I have heard of a powder call black mag3 is it any better than the triple 7 or pyrodex? Also what is the price of the black mag3?