logo

Go Back   HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder

Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Old 01-11-2007, 08:07 PM   #1
Typical Buck

Default sulfur smell??

I am a newbie to muzzleloading, and i picked up the apex the other day at sportsmans warehouse. I went and shot it today for the first time, and one of the first things that I noticed was the very strong sulfur smell. It might be a dumb question, but is this normal. It is very very strong, and i brought it downstairs to clean and now most of the house smells like rotten eggs. Is this normal or is it supposed to smell like smokeless gunpoweder?
125 Gr Muzzy 3 Blade Broadheads
Ripcord Drop Away
Extreme Archery Sight

Hunters aren't so different from other environmentalists; we just like to take home souveneirs.
bowhuntn87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 08:09 PM   #2

Send a message via Yahoo to frontier gander
Default RE: sulfur smell??

yes thats normal, better get used to it!
frontier gander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 08:14 PM   #3
Boone & Crockett

You fail to mention the kind of powder you were shooting but I would guess black powder or Pyrodex. I really do not notice the "smell" anymore. Maybe I am used to it. You will get used to it. If you want to stop the stink in the house, swab the bore real good with a swabbing solution a few timesbefore you bring it into the house and it will cut the stink down a great deal.
"Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, a total wreck, screaming Yahoo, with a big smile on your face."
cayugad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 08:15 PM   #4

Welcome! I am a newbie as well but I think you will find its in the type of powder you are using. I use triple 7 and it does not have sulfar in it.
oldrookie is offline   Reply With Quote