Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 Powerbelt AeroTip bullets >

Powerbelt AeroTip bullets

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Powerbelt AeroTip bullets

Old 08-25-2006, 01:07 AM
Spike

Default Powerbelt AeroTip bullets

I was considering buying these bullets for deer hunting. Has anyone had any experience using these? I'm new to muzzleloading so any advice would be great.
Old 08-25-2006, 05:46 AM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Powerbelt AeroTip bullets

Buckmaster,

I started with a smokepole last year so take this for what it is worth. I used Powerbelts last year and my CVA Pro Optima liked them...ALOT. I can put very nice groups at 100 yards. I put a nice scope on top of that gun and away I went.

Long story short. I used the 295 grain copper powerbelts, took 2 shots and killed 2 deer. The first deer ran about 75 yards, but was dead on his feet. The 2nd deer was BANG-FLOP from a little over 100 yards.

I liked them and have now bought the new Platinum 270 grain powerbeltsto try this year.

Bottom line is WHATEVER you shoot, just practise ALOT before you go to the timber and you will be fine. Know what powder chargeand what grain of bullet works best for your gun.....there is alot of difference with different guns.

Old 08-25-2006, 08:34 AM

I've heard mixed reviews; however, I use them and have been very satisfied with the accuracy and performance.
Old 08-25-2006, 08:38 AM
Dominant Buck

if your rifle likes them.. I see no reason why they will not work if you put them in the right spot. All you can do is try them Your rifle might and might not like them. I shoot the 245 grain Aero Tips with excellent results. Although the deer have not been real cooperative in the testing department.
Old 08-25-2006, 08:54 AM