Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

powerbelt

Old 07-18-2006, 11:12 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default powerbelt

what do you guys think about powerbelt bullets, i have been using them for 3 years and love them
Old 07-18-2006, 11:30 PM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: powerbelt

Powerbelts are a love/hate kind of projectile from all I have read. I read how some people are really pleased with the performance of the powerbelt while others claim they had solid hits but poor wound channels and little to no blood trail.

I say if the powerbelt is working for you and you like the results, then keep on shooting them. If you find them lacking in some department then move on to something better suited to your needs.

I have a couple rifles that shoot them exceptionally well. But the deer have been most uncooperative when it come time to test their performance. I've blow a lot of powerbelt holes in paper, and into bullet traps but yet to shoot a deer.
Old 07-19-2006, 08:33 AM
Typical Buck

I shot the 348 gr. PB's last season on top of 90 gr. of 777 and had good results. Good accuracy and great terminal performance on deer. I'm going to be experimenting with the 405 gr and the 444 gr. PB's here in the near future, just for a comparison.
Old 07-19-2006, 09:55 AM
Nontypical Buck

Generally speaking, Powerbelts are sensitive to their own makeup & composition. Unlike other modern plastic sabots & bullets, their performance can diminish rapidly -- for instance ....just by their plastic skirt hole being .001 oversized.

Whenthey are produced properly & the shooterdoes his homework in regards toshot placement & modest powder charge, they are generally highly accurate&even the smallish coppers (223s) leaveimpressive holes indeer.