Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

loads and powder

Old 10-01-2005, 02:32 PM

Default loads and powder

hi ya'll my phone was knocked out last week and today is the first chance i have had to post so i am full of wind.I was going through some of the post from last week up to today , now i feel much better. As i read trough the post new guns and loads were much of the topic. Last year i started shooting with bigger bullets, i had my guns set up for 2oo gr. xtp's hollowpointswith the mmp black sabots and 100 gr. of 777 lose powder or 2 pellets with this load i was knocking most of the deer to the ground or they would run a little leaving a blood trail a newbe could follow, but i had a bad thing happena big buck ran right up to me i'm talking ten feet ,yard dogswere chasing him, he stopedwhen he saw me and i shot. Hair flew and he hit the ground but he jumped up an ran off then the dogs came through . I thought it was going to be a short run before the dogs caught him ,but they left the country. When i walked over to where he hit the ground there was a little blood and a whole bunch of hair and i saw that my bullet hadcut a small sweetgum tree about the size of a broomhandle down. i knew that the bullet blew up before it hit the buck,i followed the trail finding very little blood and then it stoped i never saw him again. So after that i changed to speer300 gr 451. flat topped plated soft pointed 45 cal bullets with 120 gr. of lose 777. The rest of the deer and hogs i shot had holes punched all the way through. The gun i was using was a mk85 with the 209 setup.I was happy to see how the load was going but at the 100 yard mark the bullet started dropping . I didn't like that so i got some xtp 230 gr.full metal jackets and some 230gr hollowpointsand started working up a load for them in two guns the mk85 and a tc white mountain carbine both have scopes. The carbine has the # 11 primers an