Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 How many 100 grain loads in 1 lb of powder? >

How many 100 grain loads in 1 lb of powder?

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

How many 100 grain loads in 1 lb of powder?

Old 08-01-2005, 09:15 PM
Fork Horn

Default How many 100 grain loads in 1 lb of powder?

I appologize if this has been covered but I keep reading that loose powder is cheaper than the pellets / sticks but I am having trouble translating from lbs.to grains. I know 16 oz. in a lb. 28 grams in a oz. but how to the grains fit in to the equation?

I am new to muzzleloading and so far I have only used the APP sticks. I have noticed some of them with chunks missing and that can't be good. I am thinking about switching to 777 pellets or loose, APP loose, or BM3 and want to get a good feel for cost per 100 grain load.

By the way, shooting these muzzleloaders is a blast!

Thanks.

Old 08-01-2005, 09:42 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: How many 100 grain loads in 1 lb of powder?

7000grs. in a pound of powder.
Old 08-01-2005, 09:42 PM
Dominant Buck

One pound of powder contains 7000 grains. This would mean in a perfect world there would be 70 shots per pound. Of course this is not taking into consideration over flow, spillage, etc...
Old 08-01-2005, 09:46 PM
Fork Horn

Thanks for the info guys.
Old 08-01-2005, 09:51 PM
Fork Horn

For what it's worth...Graf blackpowder is on sale at Graf&Sons for $9.00 a pound. A man can get a whole lot of shooting in pretty cheap.
Old 08-01-2005, 10:03 PM
Dominant Buck

quigleysharps4570