Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Big Game Hunting
Roosevelt Elk or Rocky Mountain >

Roosevelt Elk or Rocky Mountain

Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.
 Nosler

Roosevelt Elk or Rocky Mountain

Old 10-23-2013, 02:58 PM
Spike

Default Roosevelt Elk or Rocky Mountain

As a Washington resident I have been hunting for Elk for 33+ years, I began hunting the "Cascade Roosevelt" (east of I-5 and west of PC Trail) due to seasonal closures I switched to hunting Rocky Mountain Elk in eastern Washington for 20 years. Due to herd reductions and spike only regs (unless drawn for special permit) I came back to hunting western Washington, but to avoid hunter numbers, I now hunt coastal Washington for "True Roosevelt"
It seems like almost everything I can read about Elk hunting ignores these elusive phantoms of the rainforest.
I know that their range is limited, and their antlers are smaller (relative) but an elk is after all, an elk.
Do you feel that the lack of attention they receive is due to limited range, or is it their smaller antlers?

What are your thoughts about the difference between RM elk and Roosevelt?
Old 10-23-2013, 05:51 PM
Giant Nontypical

I think most probably just don't know or know very little, and most guys especially east of say Colorado just want to hunt an "elk" someday and a guy from NY etc... is more likely to hit CO for his 1st elk hunt than go to WA for a Roosevelt specific etc...

I hope to get one, a Roosevelt one of these years, hopefully in the next decade...
Old 10-23-2013, 06:10 PM
Giant Nontypical

I wish we had the option to hunt Roosevelt elk.
Old 10-24-2013, 10:18 AM
Typical Buck

Originally Posted by Stiknstring
...Do you feel that the lack of attention they receive is due to limited range, or is it their smaller antlers?

What are your thoughts about the difference between RM elk and Roosevelt?