Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

Elk Hunting

Old 07-09-2012, 10:36 AM
Spike

Default Elk Hunting

Hi all, I am planning to hunt elk this fall, probably Colorado, thinking about unit78. Plan to do the 2nd rifle season Oct 20-28. I will be on foot. I am completely new to the elk hunting and know nothing about the area except what information I am getting from maps. If anyone has any experience or advice I would appreciate it.
Old 07-09-2012, 11:10 AM
Giant Nontypical

Look at the other thread in this Big Game Hunting forum on "First Elk Hunt." There is a lot of good information there. It can snow in second season. In fact, it probably will snow or will have snowed during second season up around the 10500 to 12000 foot level. Maybe not enough to drive the elk to lower elevation but maybe enough to make hunting complicated. It is hard to walk through 18" of snow. It is hard to pack out an elk in 18" of snow. This is kind of an altitude sensitive consideration -- higher up, more snow; lower down, less snow. I'm not sure, but I sort of think the elk will still be up above 10,000' elevation during second season. Look for public land that is above this elevation.

Elk are big animals. Have a plan for getting the elk out if you get one. Only 20% of Colorado elk hunters are successful. Given that consideration, you might not want to hold out for a 7x7 if you see a cow standing in front of you on opening morning. It can be a lot of fun, even if you don't score an elk. This is your first elk hunt, so expect to learn a lot. Talk to people. Be friendly. Ask for tips. Don't expect to be told a good place to find elk. Expect to hear general hunting principles.
Old 07-09-2012, 11:30 AM
Fork Horn