Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.
 Nosler

Wyoming Unit 7 Elk

Old 06-21-2012, 07:59 PM
Spike

Default Wyoming Unit 7 Elk

Got a tag in Unit 7 for elk that is the good news.

Here is the bad news:
I had earlier set up a tresspass fee hunt if I drew the tag with Turtle Rock Ranch outside of Glenrock. I called them up after I drew and confirmed the dates and the rate with them, and had it all set up.

3 days later I got a call from them and they wanted to raise the rate 10 times what we had agreed upon. I told them that we had agreed on a rate, and I had requested vacation for the time we had agreed upon, but 10X the rate I could not do it, so they cancelled our hunt.

Pretty bad experience with them. Make sure you steer clear if you hunt this unit.

Also I am new to Wyoming and was wondering if anyone knows anything about this unit. I know it has big bulls, but lots of private land.
Old 06-23-2012, 05:29 AM
Nontypical Buck

Unit 7 has produced some good bulls over the years. It is rough. The most important pieces of equipment you take with you may very well be your boots and pack. Over the years, WY G&F has increased the number of tags available though, and elk aren't stupid. As soon as the hunters show up, they head for places they're not getting shot at - often the private ground.

Private landowners aren't stupid, either. As long as there are people who will pay the 10x rate you were originally quoted, they're gong to charge it. While I am absolutely supportive of landowners controlling access to their land, the moment they lock out the hunters, they lock in the problems the "public's" game may wreak on their hay crops, etc. No hunting/Hunting for a fee = No assistance from G&F.