Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Big Game Hunting
Elk Black powder Questions. >

Elk Black powder Questions.

Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

Elk Black powder Questions.

Old 09-28-2009, 02:44 PM
Typical Buck

Default Elk Black powder Questions.

Hey all.

I have been hunting elk every year since 1996 with a bow and have killed a few. For some reason I would like to try to go during black powder season I hunt Co. and the no optic rule really has me set back.

What do you guys use for sights and what kind of max range can you achieve?

Thanks

Shane
Old 09-28-2009, 02:52 PM
Nontypical Buck

I just use the factory sights that came on my gun.
I have not shot any thing farther than 75 yards with it though. If it helps-I have open sights on my slug gun and have killed deer at over 100 yards.
Arnt Colorado muzzleloader elk tags tough to draw?? Thought I had read where you need to apply a few years for preferance points before you can be lucky enough to draw a tag. I could be wrong ,
Old 09-28-2009, 04:03 PM
Nontypical Buck

Watch out, blackpowder hunting is as addicting as bowhunting. I now have 4 blackpowder rifles!

In Colorado, you have to use loose powder, conicals (no sabots) and open sights. I have a front fiberoptic bead and a rear Williams peep sight with what they call a hunting "twilight" peep. Larger than a target peep and easier to see through in low light. I also use what is called the "6 o'clock hold" which means you set the bulleye on TOP of the front bead instead of covering the bull. Made me go from 5 inches to 3 inches at 100 yards. My son, with better eyes, can go 2 inches on a good calm day.