Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.
 Nosler

Antelope hunting tips

Old 08-29-2009, 06:06 AM
Fork Horn

Default Antelope hunting tips

I am new to antelope hunting and will be traveling to harding county SD this year to rifle hunt antelope looking for any tips anyone can offer also couple of questions. I have been told that snakes are a real problem when antelope hunting are chaps or snake boots a must or is it not that much of a problem my other thought is I do a lot of upland hunting are the chaps a good idea just because of wet grass in the morning.
I have heard of the bed sheet trick has anybody tried it and does it work and how did you do it.
Any help would be greatly apprecieated thanks in advance for any advice.
Old 08-29-2009, 09:48 PM
Giant Nontypical

prob depends where you're hunting and when....

Never seen one antelope hunting...seen 1 elk hunting.

get yourself a taurus judge....or snakeslayer, I say we team up and get rid of these pesty critters, give me a wolf anyday...
Old 08-30-2009, 01:24 PM
Fork Horn

Antelope have good eyesight so plan accordingly.
Old 08-30-2009, 02:44 PM
Fork Horn

removed by RD

Last edited by Ron Duval; 01-18-2010 at 10:11 AM.
Old 08-30-2009, 05:33 PM
Giant Nontypical

Knee and elbow pads !

They make real light foam now.

You can thank me later.........................................
Old 08-30-2009, 06:03 PM
Spike

Carry tweezers. You CAN NOT pull the cactus needles out with your fingernails. They will break off !!!
Old 08-31-2009, 05:01 AM
Nontypical Buck

My advice would be to shoot your gun/practice at all distances that you would take a shot at in the field. Don't rely on calculated bullet drop.
Old 08-31-2009, 05:39 AM
Giant Nontypical